The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) published a final ruling in early August 2014, confirming an Oct. 1, 2015, mandated transition to ICD-10. As of this compliance deadline, all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) covered entities must use ICD-10 on claims and other health care transactions.

While this section of our website is not intended to take the place of the written law or regulation, we want to call your attention to key details that may impact your practice. Are you prepared to meet the ICD-10 compliance deadline with confidence? We encourage you to take a closer look to be sure.

Our Readiness

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico (BCBSNM) plans to meet all mandated timelines and requirements. Learn more.

Request to Test with BCBSNM

YOU SHOULD BE AT THIS POINT NOW! You've improved your documentation to support better coding. Your staff is trained and ready to submit claims with ICD-10 codes. You've checked with your software vendor, installed ICD-10 software and confirmed with your billing service or clearinghouse to ensure they're ready to submit claims on your behalf. So you're done, right? No. It is strongly recommended that you test with payers, such as BCBSNM. End-to-end testing of claims is absolutely critical to help identify issues – and also allow time to resolve them – before it's too late. Provider ICD-10 testing at BCBSNM started in May 2015 and we want to start testing with you NOW! Learn more.

Assess Your Readiness

Not ready to test? You need to get up to speed, and fast! Learn more.

Review Implementation Details

As of the compliance deadline, claims that do not include ICD-10 codes, as required, will not be accepted. Learn more.

Stay Informed

It’s important to stay in the loop on industry updates, educational opportunities and other resources. Learn more.