Blue Distinction® Centers for Specialty Care Benefit Differential Product

Blue Distinction Centers (BDC) and Blue Distinction Centers Plus (BDC+) Benefit Differential product lets employers structure benefits in a way that encourages employees to seek high quality and cost-effective care from the BDC or BDC+ designated specialty care programs. Blue Distinction Centers are designated hospitals that demonstrate expertise in delivering patient care safely and effectively for select specialty care procedures.

The Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care program focuses on quality of care. Blue Distinction Centers+ for Specialty Care program focuses on efficiency and quality of care. These programs cover 10 specialty areas.

Self-insured employers can structure benefits into two, three or four tiers. Here's an example of the three-tiered benefit design:

Tier 1 – BDC and BDC+ facilities
Tier 2 – Broad PPO
Tier 3 – Out-of-network


  • Proven quality results
  • Managed costs
  • Lower readmission rates and fewer complications
  • Covering the top 50 Market Services Areas

National Access

To discuss Blue Distinction Centers Benefit Differential benefit designs, contact your BCBSNM account representative.

View details

Search Provider Finder® to find Blue Distinction Special Care Centers.