The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) published a final ruling in early August 2014, confirming an Oct. 1, 2015, mandated transition to ICD-10. As of this compliance deadline, all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) covered entities must use ICD-10 on claims and other health care transactions.

While this section of our website is not intended to take the place of the written law or regulation, we used it throughout the ICD-10 transition to call your attention to key details  of potential impact to your practice. This information will remain available post-implementation for reference purposes, particularly for providers who may not have been ready as of the Oct. 1, 2015, compliance deadline.

Our Readiness

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico (BCBSNM) made plans to meet all mandated timelines and requirements. Learn more.

BCBSNM Testing Program

Provider ICD-10 testing at BCBSNM started in May 2015 and concluded in August 2015. Learn more.

Assess Your Readiness

Were you prepared to meet the compliance deadline with confidence? Learn more.

Review Implementation Details

Claims that do not include ICD-10 codes, as required, will not be accepted. Learn more.

Stay Informed

It’s important to stay in the loop on industry updates, educational opportunities and other resources. Learn more.

Related Resources: