Provider Recognition Programs

Blue Distinction®

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico (BCBSNM), in partnership with the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association, has developed Blue Distinction Centers. Each Center has been selected through a rigorous, evidence-based, objective selection criteria established with input from medical experts and organizations.

Blue Distinction is a nationwide program that will create an unprecedented level of healthcare transparency with two goals: engaging consumers to enable more informed healthcare decisions and collaborating with providers to improve quality outcomes and affordability.

To learn more about the program, selection criteria, and designated centers in each state, visit Blue Distinction for Providers .

Blue Physician Recognition (BPR) Program

The BPR program is designed to reinforce BCBSNM's commitment to quality by providing more meaningful and consistent information on physician quality improvement and recognition. A BPR indicator is used to identify physicians and groups who have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality and patient-centered care by participating in local, national, and/or regional quality improvement programs. The indicator will be displayed on the Blue National Doctor & Hospital Finder available at

This program is complimentary to the Physician Quality Measurement (PQM) Program.

Bridges to Excellence®

BCBSNM is licensed as a sponsor of the Bridges to Excellence  Diabetic Care Recognition program and Cardiac Care Recognition programs. Learn More

Physician Quality Measurement (PQM) Program

The PQM program collects and displays physician performance measurements, supporting data and local comparison scores on the Blue National Doctor & Hospital Finder available at A three-star rating system displays if an individual physician or group practice is below, meets, or exceeds the performance level score for each measure. The program is based on select HEDIS® physician performance measures. The PQM program assists members in selecting quality physicians.

Currently, PQM data is collected for the following categories:

  • Breast cancer screening
  • Cervical cancer screening
  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Hga1C testing
  • LDL-C screening

This program is complimentary to the Blue Physician Recognition (BPR) Program.

Find a Doctor